Mandatory retirement program

Arizona State University employees are required to participate in a retirement program if you work 20 or more hours per week for at least 20 weeks in a fiscal year, according to Arizona Revised Statutes, § 38-711.23 (b). Classified and university staff in category 01 must participate in the Arizona State Retirement System. Faculty, administrators, academic professionals and university staff in categories 02 to 05 are eligible to elect between the Arizona State Retirement System and the Optional Retirement Plan. Exceptions include postdoctoral scholars, undergraduate and graduate student workers, F1, J1, M1, Q1 visa holders. 

If you meet the following criteria and want to decline participation in the ASRS and ORP, complete the ASRS 65+ Membership Waiver Form and fax to HR Retirement at 480-993-0008 within one week of employment.

  • Age 65 or older.
  • Hired on or after Aug. 2, 2012.
  • Not an active, inactive, disabled or retired ASRS member.

Book traversal links for Mandatory retirement program